Cherokee Heritage Center

The Center consists of a living history Cherokee village, a museum, and small township of historical buildings. Dedicated to the perservation of Cherokee culture and history, it is one of the most widely visited Native American sites in Oklahoma.

Join Our Mailing List!

Monday, October 17, 2005

Cherokee Homecoming Art Show Winners Announced

The winners of the Tenth Annual Cherokee Homecoming Art Show and Sale were announced at a 12 p.m. awards ceremony Saturday, Oct. 8 at the Cherokee Heritage Center. Sponsored by Cherokee Nation Enterprises, the Oklahoma Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts, 49 artists from across the nation competed in various categories for more than $5,000 in cash awards.

First prize was given in each division as well as a Grand Prize award. In addition to these awards, five Judge’s Choice Awards and 15 Honorable Mention’s were given. This year’s Grand Prize winner is Jane Osti for her contemporary pot “Arkansas Appliqué.”

Divisions and categories for the show include: Traditional Division - 1. Traditional Basketry, 2. Jewelry and Beading, 3. Traditional Pottery, 4. Traditional Arts; Contemporary Division – 5. Visual Arts (Painting and Graphics), 6. Contemporary Sculpture, 7. Contemporary Pottery, 8. Contemporary Basketry and 9. Textiles.

Unlike the annual Trail of Tears Art Show, the homecoming show is only open to artists who have membership in the Cherokee Nation, United Keetoowah Band or Eastern Band of Cherokees. This distinction offers visitors the opportunity to purchase traditional Cherokee works.

Entered art work may be viewed on-line at For more information call the Cherokee Heritage Center at (918) 456-6007 or toll free at (888) 999-6007.

2005 Cherokee Homecoming Art Show Winners

Grand Prize Winner
Jane Osti – Arkansas Appliqué”

First Place – Traditional Division
Traditional Baskets

Bessie Russell – Famine Wheel

Traditional Jewelry & Beading
Martha Berry – After the Storm

Traditional Pottery
Lisa Rutherford – Nv-da Ga-sa-qua-lu

Traditional Arts
Dave Blackbird Jr. – Family Gatherings

First Place - Contemporary Division
Visual Arts
Virginia Stroud – Surrounded by Beauty

Contemporary Sculpture
William Demos Glass – Spider’s Journey

Contemporary Pottery
P.J. Gilliam Stewart – Starry Night by the Water

Contemporary Baskets
Lena Blackbird – Indian Summer

Julie Perkins – Nvki

Judges Choice Awards
Shawna Morton Cain – Unfinished Business, A Peace Wampum
Abraham Locust – Beaded Cane
Virginia Stroud – Baby Bonnet Beaded
Carlene Wiley – Black Beauty
Joe Scott Jr. – War Club

Honorable Mentions
Bill Rabbit – The Elders
Lisa Rutherford – A Tsi Di
Kathy Van Buskirk – Fall
Sharon Irla – Serpentine Birds
Darrell Bollin – Ivory Billed Woodpecker
Judith Emerson – Into the Light
Jacque Young – Where the East Wind Blows
Valerie Blea – Small Pack Basket
America Meredith – Double Eagle
Tonia Hogner-Weavel – For Thelma
Mary Beth Nelson – Corn Woman
P.J. Gilliam Stewart – Thunder Boys
Roger Cain – Booger Mask
Jacque Young – Talking PentaclesShirley Sims – My Wild Pink Rose


Post a Comment

<< Home

FastCounter by bCentral